Frequently Asked Questions
- What is a REALTOR®?
- What is the Mississippi REALTORS®?
- What is the Mississippi REALTORS® Institute?
- What is the Mississippi Real Estate Commission?
- Where do I find a course schedule?
- What are the requirements for obtaining a Salesperson’s license?
- Tell me about the ONLINE Salesperson’s pre-license course.
- What are the requirements for obtaining a Broker’s license?
- What is the GRI designation?
- Can I earn my GRI designation if I did not take my pre-license coursework through the REALTORS® Institute?
- How do I become a licensed appraiser?
- How do I become a licensed home inspector?
- How do I file a complaint against a REALTOR®?
- What Code of Ethics courses do REALTORS® have to take?
- What CE do I need and by when do I need it?
- How do I find out how many CE hours I already have or need?
What is a REALTOR®? A REALTOR® is a member of the National Association of REALTORS® and is required to abide by a strict Code of Ethics. The term REALTOR® is a registered trademark of the National Association of REALTORS® and misuse of the term is a trademark violation. To become a REALTOR® a person who holds a real estate license may join their local REALTOR® Association which makes them automatically a member of the State and National Associations.
Click here for more information: National Association of REALTORS® Homepage
What is the Mississippi REALTORS? The Mississippi REALTORS® is a trade association that provides business benefits to its members that include education (through the Mississippi REALTORS® Institute), communication and lobbying for home ownership and business-friendly legislation. The association is located at 4274 Lakeland Drive in Flowood, MS just east of the Airport Road intersection and can be reached at 601-932-9325.
Click here for more information: MS REALTORS®
What is the Mississippi REALTORS® Institute? The Mississippi REALTORS® Institute is the school of the Mississippi REALTORS® that has been providing premier real estate education for decades. The school offers convenient online courses for pre-license and continuing education as well as classroom courses in several locations across the state. The Mississippi REALTORS® Institute is the only real estate school in Mississippi that offers the coursework required to obtain the National Association of REALTORS’ GRI designation. The Mississippi REALTORS® Institute is located at 4274 Lakeland Drive in Flowood just east of the Airport Road intersection and can be reached at 601-932-9325.
What is the Mississippi Real Estate Commission? The Mississippi Real Estate Commission is the state agency that administers licensing exams, issues licenses and regulates the activities of licensees who must comply with Mississippi license law. The Real Estate Commission is located in Jackson on I-55 North and can be reached at 601-321-6970 or www.mrec.state.ms.us.
Where do I find a course schedule? Click on Course Calendar to see a list of scheduled courses and to register for a class.
What are the requirements for obtaining a Salesperson’s license?
- Must be 18 years old
- Must be a resident of Mississippi prior to completing the application
- Must complete a minimum of 60 hours of courses in real estate approved education by the Mississippi Real Estate Commission
- Must pass the state licensing exam
- Must work under the supervision of a Mississippi real estate broker
- Must complete an approved 30-hour post-license course within one year after being issued the temporary salesperson’s license.
The Mississippi REALTORS® Institute offers the Salesperson’s Pre-license program both online and in several locations in Mississippi by classroom.
Tell me about the ONLINE Salesperson’s pre-license course. The online course, entitled Mississippi Real Estate Principles, is a 60-hour online course that follows the Modern Real Estate Practice, 20th Edition text used in the classroom course. Students are encouraged to purchase the text book as a study tool for the State exam.
The online course is a convenient alternative for students who cannot get to the classroom course. The individual who chooses the online option should have experience navigating a Windows-based computer program, have an individual email account, a high-speed internet connection and printer access.
The course requires registering through our website at www.realtorinstitute.org with a credit card payment of $225. The course must be completed within 6 months from the purchase date.
Students may transfer from the online course into a classroom course for a fee of $470. No online work will transfer and the transferring student must complete the entirety of the classroom course.
Students who complete the course will receive a certificate of completion from the Mississippi REALTORS® Institute with instructions for preparing for the State licensing exam.
What are the requirements for obtaining a Broker’s license?
- Be at least 21 years of age
- Have legal domicile in the state of Mississippi at the time of application
- Be subject to the jurisdiction of this state and its laws
- Have held a active salesperson’s license for the 12 months immediately prior to making application for the broker’s exam
- Have completed a minimum of 120 hours of real estate courses approved by the Mississippi Real Estate Commission; OR in lieu of the 12 months with an active salesperson’s license shall have completed 150 hours of real estate courses acceptable for credit toward a degree at a college or university approved by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.
- Must pass the Broker’s exam
- Completion of an approved 30-hour Broker Post-License course within 12 months of the issuance of the temporary broker’s license.
The Mississippi REALTORS® Institute offers the Broker Pre-Licensing by classroom and online through Broker A and Broker B courses.
What is the GRI designation? GRI (Graduate, REALTOR® Institute) is a 90-hour program of study offered only through state REALTOR® Associations whose programs are accredited by the National Association of REALTORS®. Upon completing the course of study the REALTOR® may use the GRI designation. The GRI program requires successful completion of the Salesperson Post-License and Broker A and B classroom courses.
Can I earn my GRI designation if I did not take my GRI I – Sales Post -license coursework through Mississippi REALTORS® Institute? Yes, a REALTOR® can take the GRI Challenge exam to satisfy the first 30 hours of the GRI program with a processing fee of $100. Then, the REALTOR® will complete the remaining 60 hours through GRI II – Broker A and GRI III – Broker B.
How do I become a licensed appraiser? Visit the Mississippi Appraisal Board’s website at www.mrec.state.ms.us, click on MAB in the banner at the top, then click on Forms to access the Real Estate Appraiser License Application.
How do I become a licensed home inspector? Home inspectors must be licensed and are required to complete an approved course of study that is a minimum of 60 hours in length and pass the state home inspector licensing exam. The Mississippi REALTORS® Institute offers an approved pre-licensing course online entitled Principles of Home Inspection: Systems and Standards. For more information on home inspector licensing, visit the Home Inspector Board at www.mrec.state.ms.us and click on Home Inspector Board or contact them at 601-321-6970.
How do I file a complaint against a REALTOR®? Contact the local Association of REALTORS® in which the REALTOR® holds membership. You will be provided with a copy of the REALTOR® Code of Ethics and a complaint form. For a REALTOR® to be sanctioned they must be found guilty of violating one or more specific articles of the REALTOR® Code of Ethics.
What Code of Ethics courses do REALTORS® have to take? REALTORS® are required to take a Biennial Code of Ethics course once every two years. The course can be taken through MRI (Mississippi REALTORS® Institute) online or in classroom. You may also take it through the local or state REALTOR® Associations by classroom. Non-compliance with the education requirement can result in loss of REALTOR® membership.
Click here for online classes: Online Code of Ethics
Click here for classroom schedule: Code of Ethics – Classroom Schedule
What CE do I need and by when do I need it? Real estate licensees must complete 16 hours of approved continuing education courses within each renewal cycle. (A new licensees’ first CE cycle begins at the issuance of the permanent license and is a three-year cycle. Every subsequent renewal cycle is two years). At the end of each renewal cycle the licensee must have completed:
- Two hours of License Law
- Two hours of Contract Law
- Four hours of Agency Law
- Eight hours of any approved elective topic
The REALTORS® Institute provides all 16 hours of CE both online and by classroom. Visit our Course Calendar for our CE Schedule.
How do I find out how many CE hours I already have or need? Check your CE records on the website at www.mrec.state.ms.us or contact the Mississippi Real Estate Commission (or Appraisal Board) at 601-321-6970.